The Efficacy of Wide-ranging Interests

Posted on October 2, 2015 by Robert Ringer

Article Font: 
Small
Medium
Large
 
Open Sans
Times New Roman
 Hide

I happened to bump into an old acquaintance of mine the other day whom I hadn’t seen in years. What I remembered about him was that he was one of the most narcissistic people I’ve ever known. And, true to his old self, he immediately began talking about money.

At one point in our conversation, I said to him (though I don’t recall the exact context) that money is not the endgame, but merely a means to an end. To which he snapped, “People may like to believe that bull___t, but the truth is that money is the endgame.

A minute or so after his heart-warming comment, I happened to mention the efficacy of having a wide range of interests over and above those things that have a direct impact on your financial success. He responded that my words sounded like altruism to him, which took me aback. Believe me, the one thing even my biggest detractors have never accused me of is being an altruist, so he clearly missed my point.

more here

Leave a Reply

